CSCS Card Types

CSCS Card Types

When working on a building site, different CSCS Cards (Construction Skills Certification Scheme) are used to identify quickly & simply a construction workers qualification and competencies.

Owning a CSCS card is becoming more necessary. Over 85% of construction sites now require workers to have a card to enter and work on the site.

The purpose of CSCS cards are to ensure all individuals on the building site have the skills in safety and awareness. This keeps the site a safe environment and ensures workers have underwent the correct training to work in their roles.

In this guide we will run through the different construction CSCS cards of 2021.

CSCS Card Types 2021 – Which CSCS Card do I Need?

how many types of CSCS Cards are there?

There are 7 different CSCS Cards, each representing a different level. The colour changes as the skill level and qualification required increases.

  • Green CSCS Card– Labourers & Construction site operatives
  • Red CSCS Card – entry level CSCS (e.g. apprentice or trainee)
  • Blue CSCS Card – Skilled workers (NVQ, SVQ or apprenticeship)
  • Black CSCS Card– Site Manager (NVQ/SVQ level 4, 5, 6, or 7)
  • Gold CSCS Card – Advanced Craft or supervisor (NVQ Level 3+)
  • Yellow CSCS Card – visitors e.g. property owner
  • White CSCS Card – Occupation doesn’t fall under standard CSCS card categories (e.g. architects or site cleaners)
Card Types 2021

Green CSCS Card – Labourers & Construction Site Operatives

The Green CSCS card allows individuals in entry-level positions onto construction sites and is valid up to 5 years. It’s compulsory for workers who want to work on construction site and provides proof the site worker is competent with basic health and safety.

The first step to be applicable for this card is to complete the Green CSCS Health and Safety Awareness Training. This runs through a simple introduction to safety on a construction site, spotting hazards and making the work environment safer for you and your colleagues. Take our 50 questions multiple-choice mock test and see how you get on.

Secondly you will need to attend a local test centre to complete your CSCS screen test. Once you have passed both tests and gained a relevant construction related qualification you can go ahead and apply for your card through the CSCS website or our card booking service.

Blue CSCS Card – Skilled Worker

The Blue CSCS Card is for individuals with a construction-related qualification, or completed an apprenticeship training that is permitted by CSCS.

To be able to qualify for a Blue CSCS card you will need to have completed an NVQ or SVQ Level 2 qualification in a construction subject for example Carpentry Level 2 NVQ or Brickwork NVQ Level 2.

You will also need a pass mark in the CITB Health, Safety & Environmental test within the past 2 years.

Blue CSCS Card Skilled worker
Gold CSCS Supervisory Card

Gold CSCS Card

The Gold CSCS Card is an advanced level card for highly skilled or supervisory workers. Individuals who are highly skilled in their field within the construction industry with an advanced NVQ or SVQ qualification; for example a Site Supervision NVQ 3 or Bench Joinery NVQ 3.

To be able to apply for a Gold CSCS Card you will need either an NVQ or SVQ Level 3 qualification, an approved indentured apprenticeship or an employer sponsored apprenticeship.

You will also be required to have passed the CITB Health, Safety & Environment test in the past 2 years.

CSCS Black Card

The CSCS Black card is for individuals at manager level on a construction site. It demonstrates that you can hold a management position on a construction site whilst working safely.

To apply for one you’ll need to provide evidence of your management or technical related NVQ or SVQ Level 5 or higher. You will also need to pass the CITB managers and professionals health, safety & environment test.

Black CSCS Card Manager
different cscs cards
different cscs cards

Red CSCS Card

The Red CSCS Card is for construction workers who are in the process of getting an accredited apprenticeship scheme acknowledged by CSCS. With this card you can acquire valuable on-site experience, whilst training for your desired job role.

How to Get a Red CSCS Card

Applicants must have passed the CITB Health, Safety & Environment test within the last 2 years.

Trainee card applicants must be able to prove that they are enrolled onto their qualification with evidence from the university, professional body or training organisation.

How Long Does a Red CSCS Card Last

For apprenticeships the card lasts up to 5 years. If you are waiting for your card you can also apply for a provisional red card which can be used for a six months.

You can also get a temporary red card for experienced workers, valid for one year available to individuals with recent experience in construction.

CSCS Red Card Extension

You cannot extend the training and apprenticeship red card after the 5 years is up.


Do Apprentices Need a CSCS Card?

To be allowed on most sites the apprentice needs a red CSCS Card & have passed the CITB Health Safety & Environment test.

White CSCS Card

The White CSCS Card is for academically qualified individuals; qualifications that don’t fall under any of the standard CSCS card categories. For example the individual may have a qualification in architecture and qualify for the white CSCS card.

When applying you will need to provide a copy of a valid professional membership certificate or card from an approved professional body.

You will also need to pass a CITB health, safety and environment test.

How Long is the CSCS White Card Valid for?

Once obtained the CSCS White card is then valid for 5 years.

different cscs cards
different cscs cards

Yellow CSCS Card – Regular Visitor

The Yellow CSCS Card was for individuals who are regular visitors to a building site, but do not have construction skills. For example an estate agent or land owner however this was discontinued by CSCS in February 2020. The card remains valid until the printed expiry date on the card.

The discontinuation of this card does not relieve the site managers from their legal obligation to ensure the health, safety and welfare of individuals entering their building sites.

What Qualifications Do I Need For a CSCS Card?


  • Red CSCS Card – You must have passed the CITB Health, Safety and Environment test within the past two years


  • Blue CSCS Card – need to have achieved a construction related NVQ or SVQ Level 2 or completed an apprenticeship. Secondly a CITB Health, Safety & Environment test in the last 2 years Click Here to take our mock test.


  • Black CSCS Card– To apply you need a construction management level NVQ/SVQ level 4, 5, 6, or 7. Secondly a CITB Managers and professionals health, safety & environment test.


  • Gold CSCS Card – You will need an Advanced Craft or Supervisor NVQ Level 3+. Secondly you will need to have passed the CITB Managers & professionals Health, Safety & Environment Test in the past 2 years to apply.


  • White CSCS Card – Occupation doesn’t fall under standard CSCS card categories (e.g. architects). You will need a valid CITB HS&E test to apply for your White CSCS card.  The card is valid for five years and can be renewed.

Different CSCS Cards not What You’re Looking for?